A3P

Log in

Sanofi will limit its price increases in the US

The CEO of the pharmaceutical group Sanofi, Olivier Brandicourt, announced Tuesday the commitment of the laboratory limit the increase in its prices in the United States at a level less than or equal to inflation in health costs or 5,4% expected in 2017.

Mr Brandicourt said in a statement posted on the band's website, Sanofi undertook "an approach vis-à-vis transparency elements it takes into consideration in setting the price of its drugs" in making public the principles for the development of its prices in the United States.

These principles include a "comprehensive assessment of the value" of the drug, taking into account comparable therapeutic options available, and "affordability for patients."

Each player in the pharmaceutical chain has "a role to play in ensuring the sustainability of the system" and "our industry must participate in the long-term balance of resources," said Mr. Brandicourt.

"For this reason, the price increases that we practice in the United States are less than or equivalent to the independent standard inflation index of the cost of health care", based on national expenditure growth projection health, says the boss of Sanofi.

In 2017, this will limit the price increase Sanofi to "5,4%, regardless of the product in question," he said.

Sanofi added that given the size of its portfolio, it may have to decide "for good reason" increases above the benchmark. The band will release the information as that decision.

Sanofi is also committed to "disclose, starting today, the figures aggregate increases, gross and net, the price of (its) drugs in the United States," from 2016.

The group said that in 2016, for all of its portfolio in the US, the average increase of the list price was 4% over 2015, while net average prices were down 2,1%.

US President Donald Trump in March launched an offensive against the soaring prices of drugs in the United States, indicating that it was working on a new system with "competition in the pharmaceutical industry."

"The price will drop to the Americans," he had tweeted.

a3p-100pxhaut logo

 fren

Commit to share
Transmit and progress together
Promoting innovation

The A3P Association is a major player in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industry.
Created in 1986, it contributes to the good development of the production of medicines and clean and sterile equipment, it runs a network of professionals 21 000, manufacturers and suppliers, as part of International Congress and technical days.

It now has over 1700 members who share their technical experience, scientific and regulatory.

More info on video (Versiongb here )


  group    administrators A3P
    
& Project Managers

letter   newsletter A3P

A3P

Connexion

Sanofi va limiter ses augmentations de prix aux Etats-Unis

Le directeur général du groupe pharmaceutique Sanofi, Olivier Brandicourt, a annoncé mardi l'engagement du laboratoire de limiter l'augmentation de ses prix aux Etats-Unis à un niveau inférieur ou égal à l'inflation des coûts de santé, soit 5,4% prévu en 2017.

M. Brandicourt a indiqué, dans une déclaration publiée sur le site du groupe, que Sanofi s'engageait "dans une démarche de transparence vis-à-vis des éléments qu'elle prend en considération pour fixer le prix de ses médicaments", en rendant public des principes pour l'élaboration de ses prix aux Etats-Unis.

Ces principes reposent notamment sur une "évaluation globale de la valeur" du médicament, tenant compte des options thérapeutiques comparables disponibles, et sur "l'accessibilité économique pour les patients".

Chaque acteur de la chaîne pharmaceutique a "un rôle à jouer pour assurer la pérennité du système" et "notre secteur doit participer à l'équilibre à long terme des ressources", souligne M. Brandicourt.

"Pour cette raison, les augmentations de prix que nous pratiquerons aux Etats-Unis seront inférieures ou équivalentes à l'indice standard indépendant de l'inflation du coût des soins de santé", en se basant sur la projection de croissance des dépenses nationales de santé, déclare le patron de Sanofi.

Pour 2017, cela limitera les augmentation de prix de Sanofi à "5,4%, quel que soit le produit considéré", précise-t-il.

Sanofi ajoute que compte tenu de la taille de son portefeuille, il pourrait être amené à décider "pour des raisons valables" des augmentations supérieures à l'indice de référence. Le groupe rendra alors publiques les informations motivant cette décision.

Sanofi s'engage aussi à "divulguer, à partir d'aujourd'hui, les chiffres des augmentations agrégées, brutes et nettes, du prix de (ses) médicaments aux Etats-Unis", à compter de 2016.

Le groupe précise qu'en 2016, pour l'ensemble de son portefeuille aux Etats-Unis, la hausse moyenne du prix catalogue a été de 4% par rapport à 2015, tandis que les prix moyens nets ont baissé de 2,1%.

Le président américain Donald Trump a lancé en mars une offensive contre la flambée des prix des médicaments aux Etats-Unis, indiquant qu'il travaillait à un nouveau système avec "de la concurrence dans l'industrie pharmaceutique".

"Le prix pour les Américains va baisser", avait-il tweeté.

logo a3p-100pxhaut

 fren

S'engager pour partager
Transmettre et progresser ensemble
Promouvoir l'innovation

L’Association A3P est un acteur incontournable de l’industrie pharmaceutique et biotechnologique. 
Créée en 1986, elle contribue au bon développement de la production de médicaments et de matériels propres et stériles, elle anime un réseau de 21 000 professionnels, fabricants et fournisseurs, dans le cadre de Congrès internationaux et de journées techniques.

Elle regroupe aujourd’hui plus de 1700 adhérents qui partagent leurs expériences techniques, scientifiques et réglementaires.

 + d'infos en vidéo ( version gb ici )


  group    Administrateurs A3P
    
& Chargés de missions

letter   Newsletter A3P