A3P

Log in

The global pharmaceutical market remained dynamic in 2016

Despite the trend to regulate drug prices, the global pharmaceutical market continued to grow strongly last year and should remain well-oriented by 2020, according to a study by QuintilesIMS published Friday.

Global drug sales increased by 7% in 2016, reaching 1.085 billion. And they should grow from 4% to 7% per year on average by 2020, driven by the US in value terms and by emerging countries in volume, according to the study.

China became the world's second largest pharmaceutical market last year, behind the United States, thanks to its consumption of generics.

However, the Japanese market remains the world's second-largest provider of patent-protected medicines, according to Stéphane Sclison, chief strategy officer at QuintilesIMS, said in a statement.

Sales in North America, which accounts for nearly half of the global pharmaceutical market, increased by 6% last year, as in the Africa-Asia-Pacific area (24% of the world market).

In Europe (22% of the world market), drug sales increased by 5% last year, but are expected to return to "more moderate" levels in the coming years, according to QuintilesIMS, notably because the impact of The arrival of innovative and expensive drugs against hepatitis C, which had spurred spending, has been stabilized.

In France, the city market (medicines sold in pharmacies), in decline since 2010, continued to decline last year (-0,4% to 19,47 billion), mainly due to government-imposed price cuts On reimbursed drugs, according to the research firm.

a3p-100pxhaut logo

 fren

Commit to share
Transmit and progress together
Promoting innovation

The A3P Association is a major player in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industry.
Created in 1986, it contributes to the good development of the production of medicines and clean and sterile equipment, it runs a network of professionals 21 000, manufacturers and suppliers, as part of International Congress and technical days.

It now has over 1700 members who share their technical experience, scientific and regulatory.

More info on video (Versiongb here )


  group    administrators A3P
    
& Project Managers

letter   newsletter A3P

A3P

Connexion

Le marché pharmaceutique mondial est resté dynamique en 2016

Malgré la tendance à la régulation des prix des médicaments, le marché pharmaceutique mondial a continué de fortement progresser l'an dernier et devrait rester bien orienté d'ici à 2020, selon une étude du cabinet QuintilesIMS publiée vendredi.

Les ventes mondiales de médicaments ont augmenté de 7% en 2016, atteignant 1.085 milliards de dollars. Et elles devraient croître de 4% à 7% par an en moyenne d'ici à 2020, tirées par les Etats-Unis en valeur et par les pays émergents en volume, selon l'étude.

La Chine est ainsi devenue l'an dernier le deuxième marché pharmaceutique mondial, derrière les Etats-Unis, grâce à sa consommation de génériques.

Le marché japonais reste toutefois numéro deux mondial en ce qui concerne les médicaments protégés par des brevets, observe Stéphane Sclison, directeur de la stratégie chez QuintilesIMS, cité dans un communiqué.

Les ventes en Amérique du Nord, région qui concentre près de la moitié du marché pharmaceutique mondial, ont augmenté de 6% l'an dernier, comme dans la zone Afrique-Asie-Pacifique (24% du marché mondial).

En Europe (22% du marché mondial), les ventes de médicaments ont augmenté de 5% l'an dernier, mais devraient revenir à des niveaux "plus modérés" dans les prochaines années, selon QuintilesIMS, notamment parce que l'impact de l'arrivée de médicaments innovants et onéreux contre l'hépatite C, qui avait entraîné des pics de dépenses, a été stabilisé.

En France, le marché de ville (médicaments vendus en officine), en déclin depuis 2010, a continué de reculer l'an dernier (-0,4% à 19,47 milliards d'euros), principalement en raison des baisses de prix imposées par le gouvernement sur les médicaments remboursés, selon le cabinet d'études.

logo a3p-100pxhaut

 fren

S'engager pour partager
Transmettre et progresser ensemble
Promouvoir l'innovation

L’Association A3P est un acteur incontournable de l’industrie pharmaceutique et biotechnologique. 
Créée en 1986, elle contribue au bon développement de la production de médicaments et de matériels propres et stériles, elle anime un réseau de 21 000 professionnels, fabricants et fournisseurs, dans le cadre de Congrès internationaux et de journées techniques.

Elle regroupe aujourd’hui plus de 1700 adhérents qui partagent leurs expériences techniques, scientifiques et réglementaires.

 + d'infos en vidéo ( version gb ici )


  group    Administrateurs A3P
    
& Chargés de missions

letter   Newsletter A3P