A3P

Log in

Many "anomalies" detected in cosmetics sold in France

Non-compliant labeling, allegations or compositions: the Directorate-General for Competition, Consumer Affairs and Fraud Control (DGCCRF) identified numerous "anomalies" in its 2016 survey on cosmetics, according to a report Released on Friday.

On 8.000 cosmetic products placed on the national market and checked last year, the DGCCRF detected anomalies in 22% of cases, and 39% of establishments (producers or importers) had "at least one anomaly", according to Published on its website.

More 500 products placed on the national market were thus pinned for non-compliant labeling, mainly due to the lack of mandatory information such as expiration date, or non-use of the French language.

More serious, some labels did not include the ingredient list or lot number, or did not mention the presence of allergens while the products contained them.

A hundred products also presented false and "clearly misleading" claims, such as "allergen-free", "paraben-free", "fragrance-free", the DGCCRF noted.

Among the 8.000 controlled products, near 700 were also the subject of a laboratory analysis.

The samples showed that 37% of these products had "non-compliant" or even "dangerous" compositions for 15% of them.

"Companies that have placed hazardous products on the market have generally voluntarily withdrawn from the market, but in seven cases prefectoral orders have had to prescribe a withdrawal-recall before destruction," said the DGCCRF.

Various operators, in particular importers or very small, often artisanal manufacturers, "still do not recognize the extent of their obligations, considering them as heavy administrative formalities", even though these failures are "detrimental" to the consumer. The DGCCRF pointed out.

His investigation resulted in 377 warnings, 188 administrative police measures, 79 minutes and 16 seizures. The DGCCRF also plans to initiate a "reinforcement of regulatory communication", in particular for SMEs in the sector.

Two weeks ago, the association UFC-Que Choisir had spotted 23 cosmetic products sold in France although containing substances formally prohibited in the European Union. The DGCCRF told AFP that it would investigate the issue.

"Many self-entrepreneurs, including farmers seeking to diversify, make essential oils in their hangar or kitchen, and then sell them to markets," said Patrick O'Quin,
President of the Federation of Beauty Enterprises (Febea), questioned Friday by AFP.

"As their products are natural, they think they are out of any regulatory framework (...), it is total blur," he lamented.

Non-compliant cosmetics are a "real concern" but they would only concern a very small part of the sector's volume, about 1 million of different formulas allowed in the European Union, according to Mr. O'Quin.

a3p-100pxhaut logo

 fren

Commit to share
Transmit and progress together
Promoting innovation

The A3P Association is a major player in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industry.
Created in 1986, it contributes to the good development of the production of medicines and clean and sterile equipment, it runs a network of professionals 21 000, manufacturers and suppliers, as part of International Congress and technical days.

It now has over 1700 members who share their technical experience, scientific and regulatory.

More info on video (Versiongb here )


  group    administrators A3P
    
& Project Managers

letter   newsletter A3P

A3P

Connexion

De nombreuses "anomalies" détectées dans des cosmétiques vendus en France

Défauts d'étiquetage, allégations ou compositions "non conformes": la Direction générale de la concurrence, de la consommation et de la répression des fraudes (DGCCRF) a identifié de nombreuses "anomalies" dans son enquête 2016 sur les cosmétiques, selon un bilan publié vendredi.

Sur près de 8.000 produits cosmétiques mis sur le marché national et contrôlés l'an dernier, la DGCCRF a détecté des anomalies dans 22% des cas, et 39% des établissements (producteurs ou importateurs) présentaient "au moins une anomalie", selon ce bilan publié sur son site internet.

Plus de 500 produits mis sur le marché national ont été ainsi épinglés pour des étiquetages non conformes, principalement en raison de l'absence de mentions obligatoires comme la date de péremption, ou la non-utilisation de la langue française.

Plus grave, certaines étiquettes ne comprenaient pas la liste des ingrédients ou de numéro de lot, ou ne mentionnaient pas la présence d'allergènes alors que les produits en contenaient.

Une centaine de produits présentaient également des allégations fausses et "clairement trompeuses", comme "sans allergènes", "sans parabènes", "sans parfum", a encore relevé la DGCCRF.

Parmi les 8.000 produits contrôlés, près de 700 ont aussi fait l'objet d'une analyse en laboratoire.

Les prélèvements ont révélé que 37% de ces produits avaient des compositions "non conformes", voire "dangereuses" pour 15% d'entre eux.

"Les sociétés ayant mis sur le marché des produits dangereux ont généralement procédé à des retraits volontaires du marché mais, dans sept cas, des arrêtés préfectoraux ont dû prescrire un retrait-rappel avant destruction", a précisé la DGCCRF.

Divers opérateurs, notamment des importateurs ou de très petits fabricants, souvent artisanaux, "méconnaissent encore l'étendue des obligations qui leur incombent, les considérant comme des formalités administratives lourdes", alors que ces manquements sont pourtant "préjudiciables" pour le consommateur, a encore souligné la DGCCRF.

Son enquête a abouti à 377 avertissements, 188 mesures de police administrative, 79 procès-verbaux et 16 saisies. La DGCCRF prévoit par ailleurs d'engager un "renforcement de la communication sur la réglementation" notamment envers les PME-TPE du secteur.

Il y a deux semaines, l'association UFC-Que Choisir avait repéré 23 produits cosmétiques vendus en France bien que contenant des substances formellement interdites dans l'Union européenne. La DGCCRF avait indiqué à l'AFP qu'elle allait enquêter sur le sujet.

"Beaucoup d'auto-entrepreneurs, dont des agriculteurs cherchant à se diversifier, bricolent des huiles essentielles dans leur hangar ou leur cuisine, et les vendent ensuite sur les marchés", selon Patrick O'Quin,
président de la fédération des entreprises de la beauté (Febea), interrogé vendredi par l'AFP.

"Comme leurs produits sont naturels, ils pensent qu'ils sont hors de tout cadre réglementaire (...), c'est le flou total", a-t-il déploré.

Les cosmétiques non-conformes sont un "vrai souci" mais ils ne concerneraient qu'une infime partie des volumes du secteur, sur environ 1 million de formules différentes autorisées dans l'Union européenne, selon M. O'Quin.

logo a3p-100pxhaut

 fren

S'engager pour partager
Transmettre et progresser ensemble
Promouvoir l'innovation

L’Association A3P est un acteur incontournable de l’industrie pharmaceutique et biotechnologique. 
Créée en 1986, elle contribue au bon développement de la production de médicaments et de matériels propres et stériles, elle anime un réseau de 21 000 professionnels, fabricants et fournisseurs, dans le cadre de Congrès internationaux et de journées techniques.

Elle regroupe aujourd’hui plus de 1700 adhérents qui partagent leurs expériences techniques, scientifiques et réglementaires.

 + d'infos en vidéo ( version gb ici )


  group    Administrateurs A3P
    
& Chargés de missions

letter   Newsletter A3P