A3P

Log in

Sanofi and Lonza lay the foundation stone of their bioproduction plant in Switzerland

The French pharmaceutical company Sanofi and the Swiss group Lonza gave Friday the kick-off to the site of their future joint factory of biological drugs in Switzerland, to be operational by 2020.

Sanofi and Lonza, a world leader in the biopharmaceutical and specialty ingredient markets, announced in February the creation of the plant, through a joint venture in which both groups each have to invest approximately 270 million.

This large-scale mammalian cell culture plant, dedicated to the production of monoclonal antibodies, will be installed in Visp (Visp), a municipality in the canton of Valais (southern Switzerland) and historic cradle of Lonza.

The two groups will each occupy 50% of the plant's industrial capacities, but each will be able to use each other's capacities according to their needs.

Around 200 jobs will be created by Lonza for this plant, only a dozen on Sanofi side, Philippe Luscan, head of industrial operations of the French pharmaceutical group, told AFP in February.

Sanofi, which aims to become one of the world leaders in bioproduction, expects to spend about 600 million euros of industrial investment per year in biotechnology between now and 2020, after 3,3 billion euros invested in this field these 5 in the last few years, the group said in June.

Dupixent (dupilumab), which is used against severe eczema, and Kevzara (sarilumab) to treat rheumatoid arthritis, are both medicinal products derived from biotechnology, along with approximately 60% of its drugs in development.

a3p-100pxhaut logo

 fren

Commit to share
Transmit and progress together
Promoting innovation

The A3P Association is a major player in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industry.
Created in 1986, it contributes to the good development of the production of medicines and clean and sterile equipment, it runs a network of professionals 21 000, manufacturers and suppliers, as part of International Congress and technical days.

It now has over 1700 members who share their technical experience, scientific and regulatory.

More info on video (Versiongb here )


  group    administrators A3P
    
& Project Managers

letter   newsletter A3P

A3P

Connexion

Sanofi et Lonza posent la première pierre de leur usine de bioproduction en Suisse

Le laboratoire pharmaceutique français Sanofi et le groupe helvétique Lonza ont donné vendredi le coup d'envoi au chantier de leur future usine commune de médicaments biologiques en Suisse, devant être opérationnelle d'ici 2020.

Sanofi et Lonza, fournisseur de rang mondial du marché biopharmaceutique et du marché des ingrédients de spécialité, avaient annoncé en février la création de cette usine, via une coentreprise dans laquelle les deux groupes doivent chacun investir environ 270 millions d'euros.

Cette usine de cultures cellulaires mammifères à grande échelle, dédiée à la production d'anticorps monoclonaux, sera installée à Visp (Viège), commune du canton du Valais (sud de la Suisse) et berceau historique de Lonza.

Les deux groupes occuperont chacun 50% des capacités industrielles de l'usine, mais chacun pourra utiliser des capacités de l'autre en fonction de ses besoins.

Environ 200 postes seront créés par Lonza pour cette usine, pour une dizaine seulement côté Sanofi, avait précisé en février à l'AFP Philippe Luscan, responsable des opérations industrielles du groupe pharmaceutique français.

Sanofi, qui ambitionne de devenir l'un des leaders mondiaux de la bioproduction, compte consacrer environ 600 millions d'euros d'investissements industriels par an dans les biotechnologies d'ici 2020, après 3,3 milliards d'euros investis dans ce domaine ces 5 dernières années, avait précisé le groupe en juin.

Ses deux principaux médicaments lancés cette année, Dupixent (dupilumab), indiqué contre l'eczéma sévère, et Kevzara (sarilumab), pour traiter la polyarthrite rhumatoïde, sont tous deux des médicaments issus des biotechnologies, tout comme 60% environ de son portefeuille de médicaments en développement.

logo a3p-100pxhaut

 fren

S'engager pour partager
Transmettre et progresser ensemble
Promouvoir l'innovation

L’Association A3P est un acteur incontournable de l’industrie pharmaceutique et biotechnologique. 
Créée en 1986, elle contribue au bon développement de la production de médicaments et de matériels propres et stériles, elle anime un réseau de 21 000 professionnels, fabricants et fournisseurs, dans le cadre de Congrès internationaux et de journées techniques.

Elle regroupe aujourd’hui plus de 1700 adhérents qui partagent leurs expériences techniques, scientifiques et réglementaires.

 + d'infos en vidéo ( version gb ici )


  group    Administrateurs A3P
    
& Chargés de missions

letter   Newsletter A3P