A3P

Log in

The sale of antibiotics to the unit makes it possible to reduce by 10% the volumes delivered (experimentation)

The sale of antibiotics to the unit reduces 10% volumes delivered to patients, while promoting better adherence to treatments, according to the results of an experiment commissioned by the Ministry of Health, AFP.

Conducted from November 2014 to November 2015 in 100 pharmacies in four regions (Ile-de-France, Limousin, Lorraine, Provence-Alpes-Côtes-d'Azur), under the aegis of Inserm, the experimentation concerned 14 antibiotics and their generics.

It had been announced by the previous government in order to save money and combat the misuse of medicines, especially antibiotics, their overconsumption favoring antimicrobial resistance.

Its results, unveiled in September by the American scientific journal PLOS ONE, "in all discretion", as noted on Friday Daily Pharmacist on its website, confirm the economic, environmental and health benefits of dispensing to the unit , according to the authors of the study.

Of the 1.185 patients who agreed to participate in the survey, 907 experienced this type of dispensation (tested in 75 pharmacies), the other 278 having received traditional boxes (in 25 other pharmacies).

In 60% of unit sales cases, initial packaging did not coincide with prescription.

And the distribution of the exact number of tablets required for treatment has reduced 9,9% the number of drugs dispensed and reimbursed by the social security (to 20 on average) compared to the volumes delivered with the traditional boxes (23 on average).

Unit dispensing could reduce self-medication of 1,9%, the authors calculate: among respondents, 17,6% said they wanted to keep their unused antibiotics, 10,7% that they could use them without the consent of a doctor.

A little more than 13% of those polled said they had a tendency to throw away the remaining drugs at the expense of recycling.

Another "unexpected" teaching: the one-to-one dispensing seems to contribute to a better follow-up of the treatments: on 984 respondents, 91,4% of the patients who benefited from this procedure were "observers", against 65,6% the other group.

The generalization of unit sales would have a cost (increased workload for pharmacists, changes imposed on manufacturers), not assessed by the study, acknowledge its authors. But it should allow enough savings to finance offsets to stakeholders, they argue.

If this measure, promised during the campaign by Emmanuel Macron, "interests everyone", it is "in fact quite complex," said Health Minister Agnès Buzyn, last week on BFM TV.

"When you sell the drugs to the unit you lose the traceability of the box and therefore there are risks for the sick," she said, saying she was "in favor" of anything that would "profits" for the Security and avoid "gabegie".

The Ministry of Health, which was contacted by AFP, said it had not "formalized" the results of the experiment, pending the forthcoming parliamentary report on the subject.

a3p-100pxhaut logo

 fren

Commit to share
Transmit and progress together
Promoting innovation

The A3P Association is a major player in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industry.
Created in 1986, it contributes to the good development of the production of medicines and clean and sterile equipment, it runs a network of professionals 21 000, manufacturers and suppliers, as part of International Congress and technical days.

It now has over 1700 members who share their technical experience, scientific and regulatory.

More info on video (Versiongb here )


  group    administrators A3P
    
& Project Managers

letter   newsletter A3P

A3P

Connexion

La vente d'antibiotiques à l'unité permet de réduire de 10% les volumes délivrés (expérimentation)

La vente d'antibiotiques à l'unité permet de réduire de 10% les volumes délivrés aux patients, tout en favorisant une meilleure observance des traitements, selon les résultats d'une expérimentation commandée par le ministère de la Santé, consultés lundi par l'AFP.

Conduite de novembre 2014 à novembre 2015 dans 100 pharmacies de quatre régions (Ile-de-France, Limousin, Lorraine, Provence-Alpes-Côtes-d'Azur), sous l'égide de l'Inserm, l'expérimentation portait sur 14 antibiotiques et leurs génériques.

Elle avait été annoncée par le précédent gouvernement dans le but de réaliser des économies et lutter contre le mauvais usage des médicaments, en particulier des antibiotiques, leur surconsommation favorisant l'antibiorésistance.

Ses résultats, dévoilés en septembre par la revue scientifique américaine PLOS ONE, "en toute discrétion", comme l'a noté vendredi le Quotidien du pharmacien sur son site internet, confirment les avantages économiques, environnementaux et sanitaires de la dispensation à l'unité, selon les auteurs de l'étude.

Sur les quelque 1.185 patients ayant accepté de participer à l'enquête, 907 ont expérimenté ce type de dispensation (testée dans 75 pharmacies), les 278 autres ayant reçu des boîtes traditionnelles (dans les 25 autres pharmacies).

Dans 60% des cas de vente à l'unité, le conditionnement initial ne coïncidait pas avec la prescription.

Et la distribution du nombre exact de comprimés nécessaires au traitement a permis de réduire de 9,9% le nombre de médicaments délivrés et remboursés par la sécurité sociale (à 20 en moyenne) par rapport aux volumes délivrés avec les boîtes traditionnelles (23 en moyenne).

La dispensation à l'unité pourrait réduire l'automédication de 1,9%, calculent les auteurs: parmi les répondants, 17,6% ont indiqué vouloir garder leurs antibiotiques non consommés, 10,7% qu'ils pourraient les utiliser sans le consentement d'un médecin.

Un peu plus de 13% des sondés déclarent en outre avoir tendance à jeter les médicaments restants au détriment du recyclage.

Autre enseignement, celui-là "inattendu": la dispensation à l'unité semble contribuer à un meilleur suivi des traitements : sur 984 répondants, 91,4% des patients ayant profité de ce procédé ont été "observants", contre 65,6% des patients de l'autre groupe.

La généralisation de la vente à l'unité aurait un coût (charge de travail accrue pour les pharmaciens, modifications imposées aux industriels), non évalué par l'étude, reconnaissent ses auteurs. Mais elle devrait permettre assez d'économies pour financer des compensations aux parties prenantes, font-ils valoir.

Si cette mesure, promise pendant la campagne par Emmanuel Macron, "intéresse tout le monde", elle est "en fait assez complexe", a expliqué la ministre de la Santé Agnès Buzyn, la semaine dernière sur BFM TV.

"Quand vous vendez les médicaments à l'unité vous perdez en fait la traçabilité de la boîte et donc il y a des risques pour les malades", a-t-elle expliqué, se disant toutefois "favorable" à tout ce qui permettrait des "bénéfices" pour la Sécu et d'éviter la "gabegie".

Contacté par l'AFP, le ministère de la Santé a précisé qu'il n'avait pas "officialisé" les résultats de l'expérimentation dans l'attente d'un rapport parlementaire sur le sujet, prévu prochainement.

logo a3p-100pxhaut

 fren

S'engager pour partager
Transmettre et progresser ensemble
Promouvoir l'innovation

L’Association A3P est un acteur incontournable de l’industrie pharmaceutique et biotechnologique. 
Créée en 1986, elle contribue au bon développement de la production de médicaments et de matériels propres et stériles, elle anime un réseau de 21 000 professionnels, fabricants et fournisseurs, dans le cadre de Congrès internationaux et de journées techniques.

Elle regroupe aujourd’hui plus de 1700 adhérents qui partagent leurs expériences techniques, scientifiques et réglementaires.

 + d'infos en vidéo ( version gb ici )


  group    Administrateurs A3P
    
& Chargés de missions

letter   Newsletter A3P