A3P

Log in

Vitry, a giant Sanofi site in the shape of a bet on the future

A former centenary chemical site converted at great expense in biotechnology in recent years, Sanofi's vast platform in Vitry-sur-Seine remains a bet on the future for the French pharmaceutical giant, depending in particular on the take-off of its activities in immuno -oncology.

In front of this site of 23 hectares grumbles a site of demolition of old warehouses, within the framework of the works of the Greater Paris Express.

RER C trains run between the construction site and the factory, while in the distance roars the A86.

Behind the airports of "Biolaunch", the new biotechnological unit of the site, reigns conversely a studious quietude. A bioreactor purrs, rocking 24h on 24 animal cells in its steel tank to make monoclonal antibodies, a class of therapeutic proteins.

"From a few hundred grams to a few kilos" only of these proteins are thus extracted after 10 to 15 days, a volume that will be slightly reduced after various purification steps, explains to AFP Thierry Ziegler, head of biopharmaceutical development in Vitry.

With the upstream and downstream stages of production, "a total of five to six weeks are required to obtain a clinical or commercial lot" of an organic product, Loïc Millot, production manager of the site.


- Production still limited -
But before reaching this point, 10 has to be counted on 15 years of development for a biomedicine. "In the organic sector, the proximity between the people who define the process and those who produce it is essential ... The transfer of a process to a quality product on a large scale is very complicated," says Philippe Luscan, responsible of the Group's industrial operations.

The Biolaunch has been designed to address this issue, with its two nested units, one dedicated to development and the other to bioproduction. Sanofi has invested 250 million euros in addition to 100 million euros for site remediation and decontamination work since 2008.

The bioproduction unit, which started in 2012, is now almost ready to run at full speed. Its capacity should even increase by 30% next year with the arrival of a fourth large bioreactor.

However for the time being, only 30% of the bioproduction capacities are used. "We are making small quantities because we are still in the launch phase," justifies Robert Feling, the director of the Vitry platform.

Sanofi has positioned this biotechnology "hub" in immuno-oncology in particular, a therapeutic area that it considers a priority, but where it is still rarely present.

The group tried unsuccessfully last year to seize an American biotech specialist in the sector, Medivation, finally bought out by the American Pfizer. Since then, his official strategy in cancer is to bet on his own strength.

Four Sanofi biological anti-cancer drugs are currently being developed in Vitry, but only one of them, isatuximab, is at an advanced clinical trial stage (Phase III).

The site also manufactures monoclonal antibodies to Praluent, a Sanofi anticholesterol already marketed. However, its sales are far from the level of expectations of the group at the moment.


- Towards a French "Bio-Academy"? -
Another part of the site, employing a total of 1.800 employees, including 1.300 in research and development, is still developing and producing anticancer drugs of chemical origin. The retention of this know-how will make it possible to develop drugs combining chemical and biological molecules, according to Feling.

Sanofi has three other biotech hubs in Frankfurt (western Germany) in insulin, near Boston (eastern United States) in rare diseases and near Lyon in vaccines.

To ensure future large volumes, it also has another biotechnology plant in Geel, Belgium. It has also just launched in Switzerland a joint bioproduction plant with subcontractor Lonza, to be operational in 2020.

On this date, Sanofi will be "in the top 5 of the world's bioproduction capacities", says Luscan.

"Looking at the future, we have needs in all the biotechnology professions (...) Since training in these professions is fragmented in France, we are thinking about how we could organize a structured course," he adds, confident to have "discussed" with Prime Minister Edouard Philippe, who discreetly visited the Biolaunch in July.

a3p-100pxhaut logo

 fren

Commit to share
Transmit and progress together
Promoting innovation

The A3P Association is a major player in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industry.
Created in 1986, it contributes to the good development of the production of medicines and clean and sterile equipment, it runs a network of professionals 21 000, manufacturers and suppliers, as part of International Congress and technical days.

It now has over 1700 members who share their technical experience, scientific and regulatory.

More info on video (Versiongb here )


  group    administrators A3P
    
& Project Managers

letter   newsletter A3P

A3P

Connexion

Vitry, un site géant de Sanofi en forme de pari sur l'avenir

Ancien site chimique centenaire reconverti à grands frais dans les biotechnologies ces dernières années, la vaste plate-forme de Sanofi à Vitry-sur-Seine reste un pari sur l'avenir pour le géant pharmaceutique français, dépendant notamment du décollage de ses activités en immuno-oncologie.

En face de ce site de 23 hectares gronde un chantier de démolition de vieux entrepôts, dans le cadre des travaux du Grand Paris Express.

Des rames du RER C filent entre le chantier et l'usine, tandis qu'au loin rugit l'A86.

Derrière les sas du "Biolaunch", l'unité biotechnologique flambant neuve du site, règne à l'inverse une quiétude studieuse. Un bioréacteur ronronne, berçant 24h sur 24 des cellules animales dans sa cuve en acier pour qu'elles fabriquent des anticorps monoclonaux, une classe de protéines thérapeutiques.

"De quelques centaines de grammes à quelques kilos" seulement de ces protéines sont ainsi extraites au bout de 10 à 15 jours, un volume qui sera encore légèrement réduit après diverses étapes de purification, explique à l'AFP Thierry Ziegler, responsable du développement biopharmaceutique à Vitry.

Avec les étapes en amont et en aval de la production, "cinq à six semaines au total sont nécessaires pour obtenir un lot clinique ou commercial" d'un médicament biologique, complète Loïc Millot, responsable production du site.


- Production encore limitée -
Mais avant d'en arriver là, il faut compter sur 10 à 15 ans de développement pour un biomédicament. "Dans le biologique, la proximité entre les personnes qui définissent le procédé et ceux qui produisent est capitale (...). Le transfert d'un procédé à un produit de qualité à grande échelle est très compliqué", souligne Philippe Luscan, responsable des opérations industrielles du groupe.

Le Biolaunch a été conçu pour répondre à cette problématique, avec ses deux unités imbriquées, l'une dédiée au développement, l'autre à la bioproduction. Sanofi y a investi 250 millions d'euros, en plus de 100 millions d'euros de travaux d'aménagement et de dépollution du site depuis 2008.

L'unité de bioproduction, qui a débuté en 2012, est désormais quasi prête pour tourner à plein régime. Ses capacités devraient même encore augmenter de 30% l'an prochain avec l'arrivée d'un quatrième gros bioréacteur.

Cependant pour l'heure, seulement 30% des capacités de bioproduction sont utilisées. "On fait des petites quantités car on est encore en phase de lancement", justifie Robert Feling, le directeur de la plateforme de Vitry.

Sanofi a positionné ce "hub" biotechnologique dans l'immuno-oncologie en particulier, un domaine thérapeutique qu'il juge prioritaire, mais où il est encore peu présent.

Le groupe a vainement tenté l'an dernier de s'emparer d'une biotech américaine spécialiste du secteur, Medivation, finalement rachetée par l'américain Pfizer. Depuis, sa stratégie officielle dans le cancer est de miser sur ses propres forces.

Quatre anticancéreux biologiques de Sanofi sont ainsi actuellement développés à Vitry, mais un seul d'entre eux, isatuximab, est à un >stade d'essai clinique avancé (phase III).

Le site fabrique aussi des anticorps monoclonaux pour Praluent, un anticholestérol de Sanofi déjà commercialisé. Cependant ses ventes sont loin d'être au niveau des attentes du groupe pour le moment.


- Vers une "Bio-Academy" à la française? -
Une autre partie du site, employant au total 1.800 salariés, dont 1.300 en recherche-développement, développe et produit toujours des anticancéreux d'origine chimique. Le maintien sur place de ce savoir-faire permettra d'élaborer des médicaments combinant molécules chimiques et biologiques, selon M. Feling.

Sanofi dispose de trois autres hubs biotechnologiques, à Francfort (ouest de l'Allemagne) dans l'insuline, près de Boston (est des Etats-Unis) dans des maladies rares et près de Lyon dans les vaccins.

Pour assurer de futurs gros volumes, il dispose par ailleurs d'une autre usine biotechnologique, à Geel en Belgique. Il vient aussi de lancer en Suisse le chantier d'une usine de bioproduction partagée avec le sous-traitant Lonza, devant être opérationnelle en 2020.

A cette date, Sanofi sera "dans le top 5 des capacités mondiales de bioproduction", assure M. Luscan.

"Quand on regarde l'avenir on a des besoins dans tous les métiers des biotechnologies (...). La formation à ces métiers étant fragmentée en France, on réfléchit à comment on pourrait organiser une filière structurée" ajoute-t-il, confiant en avoir "discuté" avec le Premier ministre Edouard Philippe, qui a discrètement visité le Biolaunch en juillet.

logo a3p-100pxhaut

 fren

S'engager pour partager
Transmettre et progresser ensemble
Promouvoir l'innovation

L’Association A3P est un acteur incontournable de l’industrie pharmaceutique et biotechnologique. 
Créée en 1986, elle contribue au bon développement de la production de médicaments et de matériels propres et stériles, elle anime un réseau de 21 000 professionnels, fabricants et fournisseurs, dans le cadre de Congrès internationaux et de journées techniques.

Elle regroupe aujourd’hui plus de 1700 adhérents qui partagent leurs expériences techniques, scientifiques et réglementaires.

 + d'infos en vidéo ( version gb ici )


  group    Administrateurs A3P
    
& Chargés de missions

letter   Newsletter A3P