A3P

Log in

Most new anti-cancer drugs have not proven effective

More than half of new cancer medicines marketed in the European Union between 2009 and 2013 have not demonstrated that they improve the survival or quality of life of patients, according to a study released on Thursday.

Such a situation "can harm patients and cause significant waste of public resources" and "raises serious questions about current standards for drug regulation," concluded the team of public health specialists at King's College London and the London School of Economics.

During the five years studied, 48 new anticancer drugs have received marketing authorization from the European Medicines Agency, in 68 different indications.

On these 68 new treatments, 39 (ie 57%) received the green light from the European regulator without demonstrating an improvement in the lifetime or quality of life of the patients compared to the existing treatments, interest of a new drug, according to the study, published in the British journal The British Medical Journal.

Many were allowed on the basis of too preliminary results to conclude a benefit on the patient, analyze the researchers.

And even for life-long studies, "they were often marginal," they add.

Asked by AFP, the European Medicines Agency stressed that it has "widely discussed evidence supporting anticancer drugs" and be open to any "new debate" on the subject.

a3p-100pxhaut logo

 fren

Commit to share
Transmit and progress together
Promoting innovation

The A3P Association is a major player in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industry.
Created in 1986, it contributes to the good development of the production of medicines and clean and sterile equipment, it runs a network of professionals 21 000, manufacturers and suppliers, as part of International Congress and technical days.

It now has over 1700 members who share their technical experience, scientific and regulatory.

More info on video (Versiongb - drapeauitalie )


  group    administrators A3P
    
& Project Managers

letter   newsletter A3P

A3P

Connexion

La majorité des nouveaux anticancéreux n'ont pas prouvé leur efficacité

Plus de la moitié des nouveaux médicaments contre le cancer mis sur le marché dans l'Union européenne entre 2009 et 2013 n'ont pas apporté la preuve qu'ils amélioraient la survie ou la qualité de vie des patients, selon une étude publiée jeudi.

Une telle situation "peut nuire aux patients et entraîner un important gaspillage de ressources publiques" et "pose de sérieuses questions sur les normes actuelles en matière de réglementation des médicaments", a conclu l'équipe de spécialistes en santé publique du King's College de Londres et de la London School of Economics.

Au cours des cinq années étudiées, 48 nouveaux anticancéreux ont reçu l'autorisation de mise sur le marché de l'Agence européenne du médicament, dans 68 indications différentes.

Sur ces 68 nouveaux traitements, 39 (soit 57%) ont reçu le feu vert du régulateur européen sans avoir démontré une amélioration de la durée de vie ou de la qualité de vie des patients par rapport aux traitements existants, les principaux paramètres pour évaluer l'intérêt d'un nouveau médicament, selon l'étude, publiée dans la revue britannique The British Medical Journal.

Beaucoup ont été autorisés sur la base de résultats trop préliminaires pour conclure à un bénéfice sur le patient, analysent les chercheurs.

Et même pour les études concluant à des gains de durée de vie, "ces derniers étaient souvent marginaux", ajoutent-ils.

Interrogée par l'AFP, l'Agence européenne du médicament a souligné avoir "largement discuté des preuves étayant les médicaments anticancéreux" et être ouverte à tout "nouveau débat" sur le sujet.

logo a3p-100pxhaut

 fren

S'engager pour partager
Transmettre et progresser ensemble
Promouvoir l'innovation

L’Association A3P est un acteur incontournable de l’industrie pharmaceutique et biotechnologique. 
Créée en 1986, elle contribue au bon développement de la production de médicaments et de matériels propres et stériles, elle anime un réseau de 21 000 professionnels, fabricants et fournisseurs, dans le cadre de Congrès internationaux et de journées techniques.

Elle regroupe aujourd’hui plus de 1700 adhérents qui partagent leurs expériences techniques, scientifiques et réglementaires.

 + d'infos en vidéo ( version gb ici )


  group    Administrateurs A3P
    
& Chargés de missions

letter   Newsletter A3P