A3P

Log in

Multiple sclerosis: Sanofi joins forces with American biotech

Sanofi and US biotech Principia announced Thursday an agreement, worth up to 765 million, to develop a treatment for multiple sclerosis.

The agreement concerns the drug PRN2246 developed by Principia and whose French laboratory will take care of the future stages of development. In exchange, Sanofi will benefit from an "exclusive worldwide license" to market it.

"External collaborations such as these complement our in-house research and development expertise and could help to scale up the development of new treatments for patients with these serious diseases," said Rita Balice-Gordon, head of health and nutrition. therapeutic research in neuroscience at Sanofi.

The French laboratory will make a first payment of 40 millions of dollars (34,46 million) to biotech, then other payments that could eventually reach a total of 765 million.

Principia, for its part, will receive royalties on sales of the product and may, if it so wishes, co-finance the Phase III development in exchange for either higher royalties or a profit-sharing agreement with the Member States. -United.

When administered orally, PRN2246 has the advantage of being able to access the brain and the spinal cord, thus acting on the signaling of immune and cerebral cells. Both companies view this treatment as a "promising potential" for multiple sclerosis and other diseases of the central nervous system.

The statement said the deal is yet to be finalized, likely in the fourth quarter, "subject to normal regulatory approvals".

a3p-100pxhaut logo

 fren

Commit to share
Transmit and progress together
Promoting innovation

The A3P Association is a major player in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industry.
Created in 1986, it contributes to the good development of the production of medicines and clean and sterile equipment, it runs a network of professionals 21 000, manufacturers and suppliers, as part of International Congress and technical days.

It now has over 1700 members who share their technical experience, scientific and regulatory.

More info on video (Versiongb - drapeauitalie )


  group    administrators A3P
    
& Project Managers

letter   newsletter A3P

A3P

Connexion

Sclérose en plaques: Sanofi s'associe à une biotech américaine

Sanofi et la biotech américaine Principia ont annoncé jeudi un accord, d'un montant qui pourrait atteindre 765 millions de dollars, pour développer un traitement contre la sclérose en plaques.

L'accord porte sur le médicament PRN2246 mis au point par Principia et dont le laboratoire français se chargera des futures étapes de développement. En échange, Sanofi bénéficiera d'une "licence mondiale exclusive" pour le commercialiser.

"Les collaborations externes comme celles-ci complètent notre expertise interne en recherche et développement et pourraient permettre d'intensifier le développement de nouveaux traitements pour les patients atteints de ces maladies graves", a souligné dans un communiqué Rita Balice-Gordon, responsable de la recherche thérapeutique en neurosciences chez Sanofi.

Le laboratoire français effectuera un premier versement d'un montant de 40 millions de dollars (34,46 millions d'euros) à la biotech, puis d'autres paiements qui pourraient atteindre à terme un total de 765 millions de dollars.

Principia, de son côté, recevra des redevances sur les ventes du produit et pourra, si elle le souhaite, cofinancer le développement de phase III en échange, soit de redevances plus élevées, soit d'un accord de partage des pertes et profits aux États-Unis.

S'administrant par voie orale, PRN2246 présente l'avantage de pouvoir accéder au cerveau et à la moelle épinière, permettant d'agir ainsi sur la signalisation des cellules immunitaires et cérébrales. Les deux sociétés voient dans ce traitement un "potentiel prometteur" contre la sclérose en plaques et d'autres maladies du système nerveux central.

Selon le communiqué, l'accord doit encore être finalisé, probablement au quatrième trimestre, "sous réserve des approbations réglementaires habituelles".

logo a3p-100pxhaut

 fren

S'engager pour partager
Transmettre et progresser ensemble
Promouvoir l'innovation

L’Association A3P est un acteur incontournable de l’industrie pharmaceutique et biotechnologique. 
Créée en 1986, elle contribue au bon développement de la production de médicaments et de matériels propres et stériles, elle anime un réseau de 21 000 professionnels, fabricants et fournisseurs, dans le cadre de Congrès internationaux et de journées techniques.

Elle regroupe aujourd’hui plus de 1700 adhérents qui partagent leurs expériences techniques, scientifiques et réglementaires.

 + d'infos en vidéo ( version gb - drapeauitalie )


  group    Administrateurs A3P
    
& Chargés de missions

letter   Newsletter A3P