France / pharmaceutical subcontracting: capturing new production and targeting export

Pharmaceutical subcontracting in France has advantages but will have to preserve existing productions, capture new ones and develop for export, according to a report produced for the general management of companies (DGE) and presented on Thursday.

The production for thirds of active ingredients used in pharmacy and drugs brings together in France more than 90 companies, SMEs or large groups such as Sanofi and Servier, employing 17.000 people and achieving 3,6 billion euros in turnover, according to this study conducted by Alcimed for the DGE.

The manufacture of medicines weighs 2 billion euros and concerns 35 companies and 12.000 jobs, while the production of active ingredients represents sales of 1,6 billion euros made by 57 companies employing 5.100 people.

“It is a sector of strategic importance for export” and which on the other hand “guarantees security of supply” and “quality of the manufacturing processes”, underlined Bertrand Gallezot, assistant to the general manager of the companies .

The report makes ten recommendations, including the extension of the Research Tax Credit (CIR) to all the pilot lots, the strengthening of the expertise of the ANSM - the drug agency -, the setting up of "showcase offers" towards the international market and the amplification of export support programs.

The situation is different for the two activities, but both have strengths and weaknesses.

The manufacture of active ingredients, which has been in competition with Asia since the 1980s, has gone upmarket since the early 2010s, and can rely on “recognized expertise”, explains the report.

But this activity must overcome weaknesses such as “reduced visibility”, in particular with regard to the production of biological drugs and a regulatory and normative environment “not conducive to productive investment”.

By 2025, however, the growth of biotechnologies and so-called “high activity” molecules constitute “strong opportunities” for France.

In the pharmaceutical sector, companies operating in France have developed an ability to adjust their production which differentiates them from their German or Italian competitors.

The main weakness, however, is the predominance of mature drugs in oral dry form, which faces downward pressure on prices from competitors based in Eastern Europe.

"We must constantly seek to improve competitiveness," said Géraldine Börtlein, associate director at Alcimed.

But "if we lower prices too much, investments will suffer," warned Pascal Leguyader, director of industrial affairs at Leem, the union for the pharmaceutical industry.

"In terms of employment, we cannot substitute all the uses of the chemical drug with biological", underlined Sébastien Aguettant, president of the Delpharm group.

France/sous-traitance pharmaceutique: capter de nouvelles production et viser l’export

La sous-traitance pharmaceutique en France a des atouts mais va devoir préserver les productions existantes, en capter de nouvelles et se développer à l’export, selon un rapport réalisé pour la direction générale des entreprises (DGE) et présenté jeudi.

La production pour tiers de principes actifs utilisés en pharmacie et de médicaments regroupe en France plus de 90 entreprises, PME ou grands groupes comme Sanofi et Servier, employant 17.000 personnes et réalisant 3,6 milliards d’euros de chiffre d’affaires, selon cette étude menée par le cabinet Alcimed pour le DGE.

La fabrication de médicaments pèse 2 milliards d’euros et concerne 35 entreprises et 12.000 emplois, tandis que la production de principes actifs représente des ventes de 1,6 milliard d’euros réalisées par 57 entreprises employant 5.100 personnes.

« C’est un secteur d’importance stratégique pour l’exportation » et qui d’autre part « garantit une sécurité d’approvisionnement » et la « qualité des processus de fabrication », a souligné Bertrand Gallezot, adjoint du directeur général des entreprises.

Le rapport fait dix recommandations dont l’élargissement du Crédit impôt recherche (CIR) à tous les lots pilotes, le renforcement de l’expertise de l’ANSM -l’agence du médicament-, la mise en place d' »offres vitrines » en direction de l’international et l’amplification des programmes d’accompagnement à l’export.

La situation est différente pour les deux activités, mais toutes deux ont des forces et des faiblesses.

La fabrication de principes actifs, concurrencée par l’Asie depuis les années 1980, est montée en gamme depuis le début des années 2010, et peut miser sur « une expertise reconnue », explique le rapport.

Mais cette activité doit surmonter des faiblesses comme une « visibilité réduite », en particulier sur la production de médicaments biologiques et un environnement réglementaire et normatif « peu propice à l’investissement productif ».

A l’horizon 2025 toutefois, la croissance des biotechnologies et les molécules dites « de haute activité »constituent « des opportunités fortes » pour la France.

Dans le secteur du médicament, les entreprises opérant en France ont développé une capacité d’ajuster leur production qui les différencie de leurs concurrents allemands ou italiens.

Mais la principale faiblesse est la prédominance de médicaments matures sous forme sèche orale, qui fait face à des pressions à la baisse sur les prix de la part de concurrents basés en Europe de l’Est.

« Il faut en permanence chercher à améliorer la compétitivité », a résumé Géraldine Börtlein, directrice associée chez Alcimed.

Mais « si on baisse trop les prix, les investissements vont en pâtir », a prévenu Pascal Leguyader, directeur des affaires industrielles du Leem, le syndicat de l’industrie pharmaceutique.

« En termes d’emploi, on ne peut pas substituer l’ensemble des emplois du médicament chimique par du biologique », a souligné de son côté Sébastien Aguettant, président du groupe Delpharm.