What is the impact of disinfectants on environmental controls?

The environmental control program is one of the essential elements for controlling the quality of pharmaceutical production environments, so it is essential to use monitoring solutions that can detect any drift that may lead to the loss of this control. .

Specifically, the control of the environment relies mainly on the use of agar culture media which must make it possible to recover each possible living microorganism but also neutralize the presence of residues of disinfectants that can inhibit the growth of certain strains while promoting sufficient growth to to be seen by an operator.

The quality of test results depends on the performance of these media as very clearly does the pertinence of the resultant trend analyses. But validating culture media that are able to recover stressed bacteria from the environment in a cleanroom is not so simple! To gain a better understanding of the interaction between culture media and the disinfectants dedicated to environmental control, we have studied the properties of the biocides most commonly used in the pharmaceutical industry and have suggested a methodology to evaluate their impact on the performance of these media.

The manufacture of medicines in an aseptic environment remains a complex task. The maintenance of the quality of production areas is achieved by observing numerous procedures, including those related to cleaning and decontamination, and very clearly by using different biocides. The choice of the right disinfectant therefore proves crucial to ensure proper bioburden control. All this is necessary but it is not enough. The task is then to make sure of the level of cleanliness of surfaces, and agar culture media is widely used among pharmaceutical manufacturers for this purpose. These media, generally in the format of agar contact plates, are used to grow the microorganisms which may be present and to assess surface contamination. They will be in direct contact with these disinfectants. But how to estimate the compatibility between disinfectant and culture medium without running complicated validations for this purpose?
We will begin by taking a look at the different biocides used in the pharmaceutical industry.

Chemical Entity Classification example
Aldehydes Sporicidal agent2% Glutaraldehyde
AlcoholsGeneral purpose disinfectant, antiseptic, antiviral agent70% Isopropyl alcohol, 70% alcohol
Chlorine and sodium hypochloriteSporicidal agentSodium hypochlorite 0.5%
PhenolicsGeneral purpose disinfectantMicrograms per g Chlorocresol 500, 500 micrograms per g chloroxylenol
OzoneSporicidal agent8% by weight Gas
Hydrogen peroxideVapor Phase Sterilant, liquid Sporicidal agent, antiseptic4 mcg per g H2O2 vapor, 10% -25% solution, 3% solution
Substituted diguanidesAntiseptic agent0.5% chlorhexidine gluconate
Peracetic acidSterilant Liquid, vapor-phase Sterilant0.2% Peracetic acid, 1 micrograms per g Peracetic acid
Ethylene oxideVapor-Phase Sterilant600 mcg per g Ethylene oxide
Quaternary ammonium compoundsGeneral purpose disinfectant, antiseptic200 micrograms per g benzalkonium chloride
ß-propiolactone Sporicidal agent100 μg per g -. propiolactone

General Classification of Antiseptics, Disinfectants, and Sporicidal Agents - USP <1072> Disinfectants and Antiseptics

The choice of disinfectant is a complex task. There are different texts which can guide manufacturers in their choice. U.S.P. <1072>1 offers a useful classification of molecules with antimicrobial properties while indicating the intended target(s) and gives examples of effective concentrations.

ASTM (2) also directs the pharmacy industry towards the selection of one or two disinfectants and a sporicide but especially towards the use of formulations incorporating more than one type of chemical agents in order to obtain the best balance between the disinfection performance and limited aggression of the surfaces to be treated. ASTM points out that since the products used in disinfectants have activity spectra which can vary, the mixtures make it possible to guarantee the greatest possible efficiency. As a result, the majority of disinfectants on the market is a mixture of several active molecules.
We see that finding the right product is not a simple thing and this difficulty is added the new European REACH Directive which will greatly limit the introduction of new molecules or even to question the use of certain of biguanides them as such.
We must therefore consider increasing complexity disinfectant formulations and obviously increased neutralization challenge for culture media.

What is the impact of disinfectants on environmental testing?
The suppliers of biocides offer a wide variety of formulations with the different agents cited previously. But depending on the family of the chemical compound or its working concentration, the amount of product residue can vary considerably. The chemical compounds can be classified in 2 major categories: compounds which leave residues and those which do not.

PROPERTY
DISINFECTANTIrritationCorrosiveResidues
AlcoholMeansLowNo
aldehydesVery highHighYes
Amphoteric surfactantsLowLowYes
BiguanideLowLowYes
HypochloritesHighHighYes
H2O2 / Peracetic acidHighMeansNo
Phenols compoundsHighMeansYes
Quaternary ammoniumLowLowYes

Source: Shield Medicare - 10 / 2005 Cleanroom Technology

To develop our model, we selected different disinfectants commonly used by the pharmaceutical industry, and relying on their formulation, constructed a classification based on their propensity to leave residues on surfaces.

Four categories of residue scores (SR) were created based on the likelihood of the disinfectant leaving residues on the surfaces (of SR = 0,5 low to SR = 2 very high, see table).
We then evaluated their antimicrobial performance on a diverse panel of microorganisms incorporating 3 strains of the Pharmacopoeia (Pseudomonas aeruginosa ATCC 9027, Bacillus subtilis ATCC 6633, Staphylococcus aureus ATCC 6538) and 4 susceptible strains from industry cleanroom isolates. pharmaceutical (Staphylococcus epidermidis, Bacillus pumilus, Corynebacterium striatum, Common Penicillium). For this purpose, a volume of 500 μl of disinfectant (at the selected concentration) was deposited on standard agars without neutralizer. After drying, these media were inoculated with the panel strains at a concentration between 10 and 100 CFU and the incubated media. Recovery rates are finally calculated.

Disinfectants ready to useResidue score (SR)Chosen concentration
AVery high (2)Pure
BVery high (2)Phone 1
ASFHigh (1,5)Pure
CHigh (1,5)Pure
VAverage (1)Pure
JavelAverage (1)Pure
Hydrogen peroxideLow (0,5)Phone 1
70% isopropyl alcoholLow (0,5)Pure

The chosen concentration represents the concentration which allows weak growth of at least one panel strain as a minimum.
From the levels obtained for all the strains, a first score on the antimicrobial performance (SA) can be given.
SA = 1 - (Average panel recovery rate)
if the chosen concentration is pure
SA = 2 - (Average panel recovery rate)
if the chosen concentration is 1 / 10
SA is a value between 0 and 2.

The final impact score of the disinfectant (SI) on the middle is then calculated by multiplying SR and SA. This impact score is an estimate of the risk that a disinfectant represents in terms of neutralization and thus to induce poor recovery rates of microorganisms in the environment and a trend analysis that is not representative of reality.

DisinfectantsSASRSI
A0,8821,76
B1,8723,74
ASF0,951,51,43
C0,901,51,35
V0,5810,58
Javel0,2410,24
Hydrogen peroxide1,990,51,00
70% isopropyl alcohol0,030,50,02

A graphic representation of SI allows a rapid visualization of the potential impact of the disinfectant on the growth performance of a culture medium.

It is interesting to note that isopropyl alcohol comes out as a disinfectant which will not show a major impact. Conversely, disinfectant B will need to be the subject of a serious assessment with the neutralizers present in the agar used for environmental testing. In effect there is a substantial risk of having a high concentration of residues with strong antimicrobial potency, and the neutralizing capacity of the culture medium used will therefore have to be tailored to these levels to permit growth of potential microorganisms that are still viable but which are inhibited by these residues.

The results for hydrogen peroxide and disinfectant A demonstrate that there is no correlation between the amount of residues and the risk on the culture medium since 4 disinfectants with very different residual levels are all found in the high risk category. The H2O2 remaining the test compound in the panel with the highest antimicrobial potency but which also has the least residues.


Discussion

Control of bioburden cleanrooms requires validation of disinfectants and culture media. Knowledge of interactions and validation of compatibility between the two products depend on the results of environmental tests. However there is no concordance between the guide biocide suppliers and culture media. We then sought to develop a simple model to measure, beyond the performance of disinfection, the impact of disinfectant formulations of culture media. This model does not replace a validation but is an effective tool to measure risk.
This methodology can also help aid in the selection of culture media that will be used. Different forms of culture media are commercially available with varying levels of neutralization. Some agars are proposed with 2 neutralizing (lecithin and polysorbate 80) or 4 (lecithin, thiosulfate, histidine and polysorbate 80) and there are also new agar ranges with reinforced neutralizing.
The application of the methodology can provide a first orientation on the expected performance of neutralization based on the disinfectant risk scale. Today, most of the formulations suggested by the media providers include neutralizing 4, which seems to correspond to the majority of neutralizing needs.
However we see that new biocide formulations offer increasingly complex, as for example disinfectant B, they represent a higher risk of poor neutralization.

In consequence, the search for media with a wider neutralizing spectrum will become inevitable to ensure that the results of environmental testing are pertinent.

LaurentLEBLANC NB

Laurent LEBLANC - BIOMÉRIEUX

With more than 10's experience in biotech and pharmacy companies, he worked for Sanofi Pasteur before joining bioMérieux in 2008. He directs since 2012, the laboratory of Research and Development mediums of culture. In this capacity, he develops new solutions dedicated to the pharmaceutical and cosmetic industries.

laurent.leblanc@biomerieux.com

Glossary

ASTM: : American Society for Testing Materials
IPA : Isopropylic alcohol
REACH : Registration, Evaluation and Authorization of Chemicals
USP : United States Pharmacopoeia

Quel est l’impact des désinfectants sur les contrôles d’environnement ?

Le programme de contrôle de l’environnement est l’un des éléments indispensable de la maîtrise de la qualité des environnements des productions pharmaceutiques, il est donc essentiel d’employer des solutions de suivi capables de détecter toute dérive pouvant entrainer la perte de cette maîtrise.

Concrètement le contrôle de l’environnement repose majoritairement sur l’utilisation de milieux de culture gélosés qui doivent permettre de recouvrer chaque éventuel microorganisme vivant mais également neutraliser la présence de résidus de désinfectants pouvant inhiber la croissance de certaines souches tout en favorisant une pousse suffisante pour être vue par un opérateur.

De la performance de ces milieux dépend la qualité des résultats des contrôles et bien évidemment de la pertinence des analyses de tendance qui en découlent. Mais valider des milieux de culture pouvant récupérer les germes stressés de l’environnement dans une salle propre n’est pas une chose si aisée ! Pour mieux comprendre l’interaction entre milieux de culture et désinfectants dédiés au contrôle de l’environnement nous avons étudié les propriétés des biocides les plus communément utilisés dans l’industrie pharmaceutique et proposé une méthodologie pour évaluer leur impact sur la performance de ces milieux.

La fabrication des médicaments dans un environnement aseptique reste une tâche complexe. Le maintien de la qualité des zones de production passe par le respect de nombreuses procédures dont celles relatives au nettoyage et à la décontamination et bien évidemment par l’emploi de différents biocides. Le choix du bon désinfectant s’avère donc crucial pour garantir la bonne maîtrise de la biocharge. Tout cela est nécessaire mais n’est cependant pas suffisant. Il reste ensuite à s’assurer du niveau de propreté des surfaces et pour réaliser ce travail, l’emploi de milieux de cultures gélosés est largement répandu dans le monde des industriels de la pharmacie. Ces milieux, généralement au format de géloses contact, sont chargés de faire croitre les potentiels microorganismes présents et évaluer la contamination des surfaces. Ils vont être confrontés directement à ces désinfectants. Mais comment estimer la compatibilité entre désinfectant et milieu de culture sans pour cela faire de lourdes validations ?
Commençons par nous intéresser aux différentes biocides utilisés dans l’industrie pharmaceutique.

Chemical Entity Classification Example
Aldehydes   Sporicidal agent 2% Glutaraldehyde
Alcohols General purpose disinfectant, antiseptic, antiviral agent 70% Isopropyl alcohol, 70% alcohol
Chlorine and sodium hypochlorite Sporicidal agent 0.5% Sodium hypochlorite
Phenolics General purpose disinfectant 500 μg per g Chlorocresol, 500 μg per g chloroxylenol
Ozone Sporicidal agent 8% Gas by weight
Hydrogen peroxide Vapor phase sterilant, liquid sporicidal agent, antiseptic 4 μg per g H2O2 vapor, 10%–25% solution, 3% solution
Substituted diguanides Antiseptic agent 0.5% Chlorhexidine gluconate
Peracetic acid Liquid sterilant, vapor phase sterilant 0.2% Peracetic acid, 1 μg per g peracetic acid
Ethylene oxide Vapor-phase sterilant 600 μg per g Ethylene oxide
Quaternary ammonium compounds General purpose disinfectant, antiseptic 200 μg per g Benzalkonium chloride
ß-Propiolactone Sporicidal agent 100 μg per g – . Propiolactone

General Classification of Antiseptics, Disinfectants, and Sporicidal Agents – U.S.P. <1072> Disinfectants and antiseptics

Le choix des désinfectants est une tâche complexe. Il existe différents textes qui peuvent guider les industriels dans leurs choix. L’U.S.P. <1072>1 propose une classification intéressante des molécules ayant des propriétés antimicrobiennes en indiquant la ou les cibles visées et donne des exemples de concentrations effectives.

L’ASTM (2) oriente également les industriels de la pharmacie vers la sélection d’un ou deux désinfectants et d’un sporicide mais surtout vers l’utilisation de formulations incorporant plus d’un type d’agents chimiques pour ainsi obtenir le meilleur équilibre entre la performance de désinfection et une agression limitée des surfaces à traiter. L’ASTM souligne que les produits utilisés dans les désinfectants ayant des spectres d’activité pouvant varier, les mélanges permettent ainsi de garantir une efficacité la plus large possible. Par voie de conséquence, la majorité des désinfectants présents sur le marché est un mélange de plusieurs molécules actives.
Nous voyons que trouver le bon produit n’est pas une chose simple et à cette difficulté vient s’ajouter la nouvelle directive européenne REACH qui va grandement limiter l’introduction de nouvelles molécules, voire de remettre en question l’emploi de certaines d’entre elles comme les biguanides par exemple.
Il faut donc envisager une complexification croissante des formulations désinfectantes et bien évidemment un challenge de neutralisation accru pour les milieux de culture.

Quel est l’impact des désinfectants sur le contrôle d’environnement ?
Les fournisseurs de biocides proposent une grande variété de formulations avec les différents agents précédemment cités. Mais en fonction de la famille du composé chimique ou de sa concentration lors de son utilisation, la quantité résiduelle de ces produits peut fortement varier. On peut classifier les composés chimiques en 2 grandes catégories : les composés qui laissent des résidus et ceux qui n’en laissent pas.

PROPRIETE
DESINFECTANT Irritation Corrosif Résidus
Alcool Moyen Faible Non
Aldhéhydes Très élevé Elevé Oui
Surfactants amphotères Faible Faible Oui
Biguanide Faible Faible Oui
Hypochlorites Elevé Elevé Oui
H2O2 / Acide peracétique Elevé Moyen Non
Composés phénols Elevé Moyen Oui
Amonium quaternaires Faible Faible Oui

Source: Shield Medicare – Cleanroom Technology 10/2005

 

Pour élaborer notre modèle, nous avons sélectionné différents désinfectants communément utilisés par l’industrie pharmaceutique et, en se basant sur leur formulation, réalisé un classement sur leur propension à laisser des résidus sur les surfaces.

Quatre catégories de scores de résidus (SR) ont été créées en fonction de la probabilité que le désinfectant laisse des résidus sur les surfaces (de SR = 0,5 faible jusqu’à SR = 2 très élevé, voir tableau).
Nous avons ensuite évalué leur performance antimicrobienne sur un panel de microorganismes varié intégrant 3 souches de la Pharmacopée (Pseudomonas aeruginosa ATCC 9027, Bacillus subtilis ATCC 6633, Staphylococcus aureus ATCC 6538) et 4 souches sensibles issues d’isolats de salles blanches de l’industrie pharmaceutique (Staphylococcus epidermidis, Bacillus pumilus, Corynebacterium striatum, Penicillium commune). Pour cela, un volume de 500 μl de désinfectant (à la concentration retenue) a été déposé sur des géloses standard sans neutralisant. Après séchage, ces milieux ont été inoculés avec les souches du panel à une concentration entre 10 et 100 U.F.C. et les milieux incubés. Les taux de recouvrement sont finalement calculés.

Désinfectants prêt à l’emploi Score de résidus (SR) Concentration retenue
A Très élevé (2) Pur
B Très élevé (2) 1/10
ASF Elevé (1,5) Pur
C Elevé (1,5) Pur
V Moyenne (1) Pur
Javel Moyenne (1) Pur
Peroxyde d’hydrogène Faible (0,5) 1/10
Alcool isopropylique 70% Faible (0,5) Pur

 

La concentration retenue représente la concentration permettant de récupérer au minimum une faible pousse sur au moins une souche du panel.
A partir des taux obtenus pour toutes les souches, un premier score sur la performance antimicrobienne (SA) peut être donné.
      SA = 1 – (Moyenne des taux de recouvrement du panel)
            si la concentration retenue est pure
      SA = 2 – (Moyenne des taux de recouvrement du panel)
            si la concentration retenue est 1/10
            SA est une valeur comprise entre 0 et 2.

Le score final de l’impact du désinfectant (SI) sur le milieu est alors calculé en multipliant SR et SA. Ce score d’impact est une estimation du risque que représente un désinfectant en termes de neutralisation et donc d’induire des mauvais taux de récupération des microorganismes de l’environnement et une analyse de tendance non représentative de la réalité.

Désinfectants SA SR SI
A 0,88 2 1,76
B 1,87 2 3,74
ASF 0,95 1,5 1,43
C 0,90 1,5 1,35
V 0,58 1 0,58
Javel 0,24 1 0,24
Peroxyde d’hydrogène 1,99 0,5 1,00
Alcool isopropylique 70% 0,03 0,5 0,02

Une représentation graphique de SI permet de visualiser rapidement l’impact potentiel du désinfectant sur la performance de croissance d’un milieu de culture.

 

 

Il est intéressant de noter que l’alcool isopropylique ressort comme un désinfectant qui ne présentera pas un impact majeur. A contrario, le désinfectant B devra faire l’objet d’une évaluation sérieuse avec les neutralisants présents dans la gélose utilisée pour le contrôle de l’environnement. En effet le risque d’avoir une forte concentration de résidus avec un fort pouvoir antimicrobien est très élevé, le pouvoir de neutralisation du milieu de culture utilisé devra donc être adapté à ces niveaux pour permettre le développement des potentiels microorganismes encore viables mais inhibés par ces résidus.

Les résultats pour le peroxyde d’hydrogène et le désinfectant A démontrent qu’il n’y a pas de corrélation entre la quantité de résidus et le risque sur le milieu de culture puisque 4 désinfectants ayant pourtant des niveaux résiduels très différents se retrouvent tous dans la catégorie de risque élevé. L’H2O2 restant le composé testé dans le panel ayant le plus fort pouvoir antimicrobien mais qui présente aussi le moins de résidus.


Discussion

Le contrôle de la biocontamination des salles propres passe par la validation des désinfectants puis des milieux de culture. De la connaissance des interactions et de la validation de leur compatibilité entre ces deux produits dépendent les résultats des contrôles d’environnement. Cependant il n’existe pas de guide de concordance entre les fournisseurs de biocide et de milieux de culture. Nous avons alors cherché à élaborer un modèle simple pour mesurer, au-delà de la performance de désinfection, l’impact des formules désinfectantes sur les milieux de culture. Ce modèle ne remplace pas une validation mais est un outil de mesure efficace des risques.
Cette méthodologie peut permettre également une aide dans le choix des milieux de culture qui devront être employés. Différentes formules de milieux de culture sont disponibles sur le marché avec des niveaux de neutralisation variables. Certaines géloses sont proposées avec 2 neutralisants (lécithine et polysorbate 80) ou bien 4 (lécithine, thiosulfate, histidine et polysorbate 80) et il existe également des nouvelles gammes de géloses avec des neutralisants renforcés.
L’application de la méthodologie peut permettre une première orientation sur la performance de neutralisation attendue en fonction de l’échelle de risque du désinfectant. Aujourd’hui, la plupart des formulations proposées par les fournisseurs de milieux incluent 4 neutralisants, ce qui semble correspondre à la majorité des besoins de neutralisation.
Cependant nous voyons que les nouveaux biocides proposent des formulations de plus en plus complexes et comme pour l’exemple du désinfectant B, ils représentent un risque plus élevé de mauvaise neutralisation.

En conséquence, la recherche de milieux à plus large spectre de neutralisation deviendra inévitable pour assurer des résultats de contrôles d’environnements pertinents.

LaurentLEBLANC NB

Laurent LEBLANC – BIOMÉRIEUX

Fort d’une expérience de plus de 10 ans dans des sociétés de la biotechnologie et de la pharmacie,il a travaillé pour Sanofi Pasteur avant de rejoindre bioMérieux en 2008. Il dirige depuis 2012, le laboratoire de Recherche et Développement milieux de culture. À ce titre, il développe les nouvelles solutions dédiées aux industries pharmaceutiques et cosmétiques.

laurent.leblanc@biomerieux.com

Partager l’article

LinkedinEnvoyer par mail

Glossaire

ASTM : American Society for Testing and Materials
IPA : Alcool isopropylique
REACH : Registration, Evaluation and Authorisation of Chemicals
USP : United States Pharmacopoeia